loader animation

What Are Chakras And What Do They Do?

 Aug 29, 2022
healing chakras


Chakras are energy centers located throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, each associated with a different area of the physical and emotional body. Each chakra is responsible for specific functions and helps to regulate different aspects of our lives.

The word “chakra” comes from the Sanskrit word meaning “wheel” or “disk.” The concept of chakras originated in ancient India and is a part of the Hindu tradition. The chakras were first mentioned in texts that date back to 1500 BCE.

Today, the idea of chakras is widely accepted in many Eastern healing traditions and is gaining popularity in the West. Although there is no scientific evidence to support the existence of chakras, many people believe that they are real and play an important role in our physical, mental, and spiritual health.

There are seven main chakras:

Root chakra (Muladhara): Located at the base of the spine. This chakra is associated with survival and security.

Sacral chakra (Svadhisthana): Located below the navel. This chakra is associated with pleasure, creativity, and sexuality.

Solar plexus chakra (Manipura): Located above the navel. This chakra is associated with self-esteem, personal power, and assertiveness.

Heart chakra (Anahata): Located in the center of the chest. This chakra is associated with love, compassion, and forgiveness.

Throat chakra (Vishuddha): Located in the throat. This chakra is associated with communication and self-expression.

Third eye chakra (Ajna): Located between the eyebrows. This chakra is associated with intuition and wisdom.

Crown chakra (Sahasrara): Located at the top of the head. This chakra is associated with spiritual connection and the highest truth.

The seven main chakras are each associated with a different color:

Root chakra: Red

Sacral chakra: Orange

Solar plexus chakra: Yellow

Heart chakra: Green or pink

Throat chakra: Blue

Third eye chakra: Indigo

Crown chakra: Violet or white

Each chakra has a specific function and helps to regulate different aspects of our lives. For example, the root chakra is responsible for grounding us and providing security. The sacral chakra helps us to express our creativity and experience pleasure. The solar plexus chakra gives us power and confidence. The heart chakra allows us to give and receive love. The throat chakra facilitates communication and self-expression. The third eye chakra enhances intuition and understanding. Finally, the crown chakra connects us to our highest selves and the Divine source of all life.

Benefits of balance chakras

When our chakras are balanced, we feel healthy, happy, and connected. However, when one or more of our chakras become blocked or out of balance, we may experience physical, emotional, or mental health issues. For example, if the root chakra is imbalanced, we may feel anxious or insecure. If the sacral chakra is imbalanced, we may feel creatively stuck or sexually frustrated. If the solar plexus chakra is imbalanced, we may feel powerless or like victims. And so on.

Way to heal chakras

There are many ways to heal and balance the chakras. Some methods include meditation, breathwork, yoga, aromatherapy, and crystal therapy. Eating nutritious foods that correspond to the colors of the chakras is also helpful. For example, eating red foods (such as tomatoes, strawberries, and watermelon) can help to balance the root chakra. Eating orange foods (such as carrots, oranges, and sweet potatoes) can help to balance the sacral chakra. And so on.

Experiencing a chakra balancing treatment from a qualified practitioner can also be helpful. During a treatment, the practitioner will assess your energy field and identify any imbalances. They may use various techniques (such as sound therapy, light therapy, or massage) to help re-balance your chakras.

If you are interested in exploring the world of chakras further, many books and online resources are available. Hellodr.com is a great place to start!

What are your thoughts on chakras? Do you have any experience with balancing or healing your chakras? Let us know in the comments below!